Currently Implementing Tribes

There are currently 31 Tribes implementing VAWA Special Domestic Violence Criminal Jurisdiction (SDVCJ) across the United States. To learn more about each, click the individual tribe's name below. 

Note: The following list and map were updated May 2022.

Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas (TX)

Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes of the Fort Peck Indian Reservation (MT)

Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma (OK)

Chickasaw Nation (OK)

Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana (LA)

Choctaw Nation in Oklahoma (OK)

Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation (WA)

Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) (OR)

Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians (NC) 

Gila River Indian Community (AZ)

Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians (MI)

Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma (OK)

Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa Indians (MI)

Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe (WA)

Muscogee (Creek) Nation (OK)

Nottawaseppi Huron Band of Potawatomi (MI)

Pascua Yaqui Tribe (AZ) 

Penobscot Nation (ME)

Port Gamble S’Klallam Tribe (WA)

Quapaw Nation (OK)

Quinault Nation (WA)

Sac and Fox Nation of Oklahoma (OK)

Salt River Pima Maricopa Indian Community (AZ) 

Santa Clara Pueblo (NM)

Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa (MI)

Seminole Nation of Oklahoma (OK)

Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation (ND/SD) 

Standing Rock Sioux Tribe (ND/SD)

Suquamish Tribe (WA)

Swinomish Indian Tribal Community (WA)

Tulalip Tribes in Washington (WA)