Climate Action Task Force

NCAI established its Climate Action Task Force (CATF) to document, inform, and support the climate action efforts of tribal nations and organizations, and identify and advocate for policies and funding designed to empower their ability to engage in effective, sustainable climate action.

NCAI’s Climate Action Task Force is co-chaired by four tribal leaders:

  • Melanie Bahnke, President, Kawerak, Inc.
  • Leonard Forsman, Chairman, Suquamish Tribe
  • Beverly Cook, Tribal Chief, St. Regis Mohawk Tribe

Supporting and informing CATF’s work is the CATF Technical Committee, which is composed of 22 total members as follows: technical experts from each of Indian Country’s 12 regions, six at-large representatives who can speak to tribal climate action issues and priorities at the national and international levels, two Native elder representatives, and two Native youth representatives.

Key Links