

Native Languages Working Group Agenda

Sunday, June 8, 2014 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Working Group Co-Chairs: Joe Garcia, Head Councilman, Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo Jerry Isaac, President, Tanana Chiefs Conference Ryan Wilson, President, National Alliance to Save Native Languages

- 1. Opening Prayer
- 2. Welcome and Introductions
- 3. History of the Formation of the Native Languages Working Group
- 4. Remarks by Senator Begich (*Invited*)
- 5. Native Language Panelist Discussions
 - a. Lance Twitchell, Assistant Professor of Alaska Native Languages, University of Alaska Southeast
 - b. Working Group Co-Chairs
- 6. Legislative Discussion:
 - a. S. 1948 Native Language Immersion Student Achievement Act Introduced by Sen. Tester (D – MT), January 16, 2014
 - b. S. 2299 the Native American Languages Reauthorization Act of 2014 Introduced by Sen. Johnson (D-SD), May 7, 2014
 - c. Alaska State Bill 216, Official Languages of the State
 - d. Funding concerns under Title VII of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA)
 - e. FY 2015 Interior Appropriations Bill
 - f. BIE Immersion Demonstration Project
- 7. Technology and E-rate: how digital learning can benefit language preservation efforts
- 8. Discussion regarding upcoming Native Languages Summit
- 9. Closing Prayer