



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

PRESIDENT Joe A. Garcia Ohkay Owingeh (Pueblo of San Juan)

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT Jefferson Keel Chickasaw Nation

RECORDING SECRETARY

Juana Majel

Pauma-Yuima Band of Mission Indians

TREASURER

W. Ron Allen
Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe

REGIONAL VICE-PRESIDENTS

ALASKA Mike Williams Yupiaq

EASTERN OKLAHOMA Joe Grayson, Jr. Cherokee Nation

GREAT PLAINS Mark Allen Flandreau Santee Sioux

MIDWEST Robert Chicks Stockbridge-Munsee

NORTHEAST Randy Noka Narragansett

NORTHWEST Ernie Stensgar Coeur d'Alene Tribe

PACIFIC Cheryl Seidner

ROCKY MOUNTAIN
Raymond Parker
Chippewa-Cree Business Committee

SOUTHEAST Leon Jacobs Lumbee Tribe

SOUTHERN PLAINS Steve Johnson Absentee Shawnee

SOUTHWEST Manuel Heart Ute Mountain Ute Tribe

WESTERN **Kathleen Kitcheyan** San Carlos Apache

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jacqueline Johnson Tlingit

NCAI HEADQUARTERS

1301 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20036 202.466.7767 202.466.7797 fax www.ncai.org

The National Congress of American Indians Resolution #TUL-05-063

TITLE: Opposition to the Exclusion of Alaska's Tribes from H.R. 3284, the Threatened and Endangered Species Recovery Act of 2005 (TESRA)

WHEREAS, we, the members of the National Congress of American Indians of the United States, invoking the divine blessing of the Creator upon our efforts and purposes, in order to preserve for ourselves and our descendants the inherent sovereign rights of our Indian nations, rights secured under Indian treaties and agreements with the United States, and all other rights and benefits to which we are entitled under the laws and Constitution of the United States, to enlighten the public toward a better understanding of the Indian people, to preserve Indian cultural values, and otherwise promote the health, safety and welfare of the Indian people, do hereby establish and submit the following resolution; and

WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) was established in 1944 and is the oldest and largest national organization of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments; and

WHEREAS, on September 19, 2005, United States House of Representatives House Resources Committee Chairman Pombo introduced H.R. 3284, the Threatened and Endangered Species Recovery Act of 2005 (TESRA); and

WHEREAS, the House Resources Committee approved TESRA on September 22, 2005 and the House of Representatives passed TESRA on September 29, 2005; and

WHEREAS, the TESRA substantially amends the Endangered Species Act (ESA); and

WHEREAS, Section 9 of the TESRA, entitled Recovery Plans and Land Acquisitions, requires that Tribes be consulted regarding recovery plans, and provides that Tribes may assist in the in the preparation and/or implementation of management plans; and

WHEREAS, Section 9, subsection (h)(2)(B) of the TESRA contains a definition of "Indian Tribe" that includes "with respect to Alaska, the Metlakatla Indian Community" only; and

WHEREAS, Section 10 of the TESRA, entitled Cooperation with States and Indian Tribes, provides that Tribes may enter into cooperative agreements with the Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) for the conservation of species "in substantially the same manner" as states; and

WHEREAS, Section 10, subsection (c)(5)(B)(ii) of the TESRA also contains a definition of "Indian Tribe" that with respect to Alaska includes only the Metlakatla Indian Community in Alaska; and

WHEREAS, there are 233 federally recognized Tribes in Alaska, each with the same status, rights and authorities under the law as all other Tribes in the United States and they are not in any way distinct or different as a matter of law from any other Tribe; and

WHEREAS, the TESRA specifically singles out and excludes from application Alaska's Tribes and only Alaska's Tribes; and

WHEREAS, it is wholly improper and unnecessary to specifically exclude only Alaska's Tribes from the application of the TESRA; and such wholesale exclusion of half the Tribes in the United States, and the act of singling out Alaska's Tribes sets a dangerous precedent for other legislation.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the NCAI does hereby oppose the definition of "Indian Tribe" in Sections 9 and 10 of the TESRA.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the NCAI will actively lobby against these two provisions and in favor of a definition of "Indian Tribe" that includes *all* Tribes in the United States, including all of the federally recognized Tribes in Alaska.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the NCAI does hereby oppose the singling out and exclusion of Alaska's Tribes from the definition of "Indian Tribe" in *any* bill that generally applies to Tribes as there is no legal basis on which to exclude them.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that this resolution shall be the policy of NCAI until it is withdrawn or modified by subsequent resolution.

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted at the 2005 Annual Session of the National Congress of American Indians, held at the 62nd Annual Convention in Tulsa, Oklahoma on November 4, 2005 with a quorum present.

Presiden

Yelana 11

Adopted by the General Assembly during the 2005 Annual Session of the National Congress of American Indians held from October 30, 2005 to November 4, 2005 at the Convention Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.