

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

PRESIDENT Jefferson Keel Chickasaw Nation

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT Juana Majel Dixon Pauma Band – Mission Indians

RECORDING SECRETARY Matthew Wesaw Pokagon Band of Potawatomie

TREASURER **W. Ron Allen** Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe

REGIONAL VICE-PRESIDENTS

ALASKA William Martin Central Council Tlingit & Haida

EASTERN OKLAHOMA Cara Cowan Watts Cherokee Nation

GREAT PLAINS Patricia "Patti" Douville Rosebud Sioux Tribe

MIDWEST Marge Anderson Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

NORTHEAST Lance Gumbs Shinnecock Indian Nation

NORTHWEST Brian Cladoosby Swinomish Tribal Community

PACIFIC Don Arnold Scotts Valley Band of Pomo Indians

ROCKY MOUNTAIN Scott Russell Crow Tribe

SOUTHEAST Larry Townsend Lumbee Tribe

SOUTHERN PLAINS Robert Tippeconnic Comanche Nation

SOUTHWEST Joe Garcia Ohkay Owingeh

WESTERN Irene Cuch Ute Indian Tribe

Executive Director Jacqueline Johnson Pata Tlingit

NCAI HEADQUARTERS

1516 P Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20005 202.466.7767 202.466.7797 fax www.ncai.org

The National Congress of American Indians Resolution #MKE-11-015

TITLE: Hall of American Indian/Alaska Native Heroes

WHEREAS, we, the members of the National Congress of American Indians of the United States, invoking the divine blessing of the Creator upon our efforts and purposes, in order to preserve for ourselves and our descendants the inherent sovereign rights of our Indian nations, rights secured under Indian treaties and agreements with the United States, and all other rights and benefits to which we are entitled under the laws and Constitution of the United States, to enlighten the public toward a better understanding of the Indian people, to preserve Indian cultural values, and otherwise promote the health, safety and welfare of the Indian people, do hereby establish and submit the following resolution; and

WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) was established in 1944 and is the oldest and largest national organization of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments; and

WHEREAS, during the 200th Anniversary of the U. S. Constitution (1987-89), the U.S. Congress enacted Senate Concurrent Resolution #76 and House Concurrent Resolution #331, both which proclaimed and recognized that the American Indians, by and through the Iroquois and Choctaw Confederacies, were role-models for the popular-sovereignty incorporated into the constitutional government created by the United States (1787-89); and

WHEREAS, the American Indian/Alaska Native Veterans of the United States have been recognized as supportive of the United States and have been known to have fought in every war since 1776; and

WHEREAS, American Indian/Alaska Native Veterans have served with honor and courage with many being commemorated with medals substantiating their valor, including the American Indian Code Talkers of World War I and World War II; and

WHEREAS, on February 23, 2009 the House of Representatives honored the life and memory of the Chiricahua Apache leader Goyathlay or Goyaale, also known as Geronimo, and recognizing the 100th anniversary of his death on February 17, 2009, as a time of reflection and the commencement of a "Healing" for all Apache; and

WHEREAS, the United States has extended support of the United Nations Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the NCAI recommends that the U.S. Senate and House support the campaign to secure a proclamation to develop an American Indian/Alaska Native Hall of Heroes in cooperation with the Director of the Museum of the American Indians and Indian Country; and **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** the listing of American Indian/Alaska Native Heroes shall be honored and respected; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that NCAI calls upon other intertribal regional and national organizations to support this initiative and notify the members of the House and Senate of their support; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that this resolution shall be the policy of NCAI until it is withdrawn or modified by subsequent resolution.

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the General Assembly at the 2011 Mid-Year Session of the National Congress of American Indians, held at the Frontier Airlines Center in Milwaukee, WI on June 13-16, 2011, with a quorum present.

Jugurson K

ATTEST: Chon

Recording Secretary