



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

PRESIDENT

Jefferson Keel

Chickasaw Nation

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT

Juana Majel Dixon

Pauma Band – Mission Indians

RECORDING SECRETARY Theresa Two Bulls Oglala Sioux Tribe

TREASURER
W. Ron Allen
Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe

REGIONAL VICE-PRESIDENTS

ALASKA **William Martin** Central Council Tlingit & Haida

EASTERN OKLAHOMA
Cara Cowan Watts
Cherokee Nation

GREAT PLAINS Marcus D. Levings Mandan, Arikara and Hidatsa Nation

MIDWEST

Matthew Wesaw
Pokagon Band of Potawatomie

NORTHEAST Lance Gumbs Shinnecock Indian Nation

NORTHWEST Brian Cladoosby Swinomish Tribal Community

PACIFIC **Don Arnold**Scotts Valley Band of Pomo Indians

ROCKY MOUNTAIN Scott Russell Crow Tribe

SOUTHEAST Archie Lynch Haliwa-Saponi Indian Tribe

SOUTHERN PLAINS Robert Tippeconnic Comanche Nation

SOUTHWEST Joe Garcia Ohkay Owingeh

WESTERN
Irene Cuch
Ute Indian Tribe

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Jacqueline Johnson Pata

Tlingit

NCAI HEADQUARTERS

1516 P Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20005 202.466.7767 202.466.7797 fax www.ncai.org

The National Congress of American Indians Resolution #RAP-10-028

TITLE: To Support Legislation to Build a Memorial to Honor the Achievements and Contributions of American Indian/Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Veterans in the United States

WHEREAS, we, the members of the National Congress of American Indians of the United States, invoking the divine blessing of the Creator upon our efforts and purposes, in order to preserve for ourselves and our descendants the inherent sovereign rights of our Indian nations, rights secured under Indian treaties and agreements with the United States, and all other rights and benefits to which we are entitled under the laws and Constitution of the United States, to enlighten the public toward a better understanding of the Indian people, to preserve Indian cultural values, and otherwise promote the health, safety and welfare of the Indian people, do hereby establish and submit the following resolution; and

WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) was established in 1944 and is the oldest and largest national organization of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments; and

WHEREAS, the Constitution of the United States, through the Treaty, Commerce, and Apportionment Clauses and the 14th Amendment, recognizes the sovereign status of Indian Tribes as Native nations established prior to the United States; and

WHEREAS, Indian tribes are governments that pre-date the United States and, through the Indian Commerce Clause and the Treaty Clause, the Constitution of the United States recognizes the status of Indian tribes as sovereigns; and

WHEREAS, nationwide recognition of the contributions of American Indian/Alaskan Native and Native Hawaiian veterans to the United States will encourage self-esteem, pride, and self-awareness in Native Americans about the significant role their ancestors and heritage have played in the formation of the freest country in the world, the United States; and

WHEREAS, American Indians/ Alaskan Native and Native Hawaiian per capita serve at a higher rate in the Armed Forces than any other group of Americans and have served with valor in all of the Nation's wars from the Revolutionary War through Operation Iraqi Freedom; and

WHEREAS, the service of American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian veterans should be honored by memorial statues of Native American veterans, including the Code Talkers, and historical American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Chiefs and Tribal Leaders on the grounds of the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian; and

WHEREAS, the United States' Apology, to American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Veterans should be acknowledged by a memorial plaque and computer kiosk detailing the contributions of American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian veterans, the history of Federal-Indian Tribe Relations, including the history of Indian treaties and the historical background of the Apology, at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indians.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the NCAI does hereby support legislation that establishes a statuary memorial for American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian veterans, including:

- The Code Talkers, Medal of Honor recipients, and Historical American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Chiefs and Tribal Leaders on the grounds of the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indians; and
- A display memorializing the Apology to American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Veterans, including:
 - o An outdoor computer kiosk detailing the contributions of American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian veterans; and
 - o The history of Federal-Indian Tribe Relations, including the United States government-to-government relations with Indian tribes; and
 - o History of Indian treaties and the historical background of the Apology, at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, said legislation should affirm the Apology to Native Peoples as set forth in the 2010 Defense Appropriations Act and call upon the President to make the Apology known to the American people through a public ceremony, which includes: American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian veterans and tribal leaders; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, said legislation should affirm Public Law No. 111-33 and amending Section 3 thereof by adding a new subparagraph (5) calling upon people of the United States to honor "the contributions of American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian veterans, including the Code Talkers, and American Indian/ Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Chiefs and Tribal Leaders to the United States, our history, society and culture;" and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that this resolution shall be the policy of NCAI until withdrawn or modified by subsequent resolution.

Arguson +
Projection

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the General Assembly at the 2010 Mid-Year Session of the National Congress of American Indians, held at the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center in Rapid City, South Dakota on June 20-23, 2010, with a quorum present.

ATTEST:

Alexander Jus Bulh

Recording Secretary

Page 3 of 3