



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

PRESIDENT Brian Cladoosby Swinomish Tribe

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT Randy Noka Narragansett Tribe

RECORDING SECRETARY **Aaron Payment**Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewal

Indians of Michigan

TREASURER
W. Ron Allen
Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe

REGIONAL VICE-PRESIDENTS

ALASKA
Jerry Isaac
Native Village of Tanacross

EASTERN OKLAHOMA Joe Byrd Cherokee Nation

GREAT PLAINS Leander McDonald Spirit Lake Nation

MIDWEST Roger Rader Pokagon Band of Potawatomi

NORTHEAST Lance Gumbs Shinnecock Indian Nation

NORTHWEST Fawn Sharp Quinault Indian Nation

PACIFIC Jack Potter, Jr. Redding Rancheria

ROCKY MOUNTAIN Darrin Old Coyote Crow Nation

SOUTHEAST Larry Townsend Lumbee Tribe

SOUTHERN PLAINS Liana Onnen Prairie Band of Potawatomi Nation

SOUTHWEST Joe Garcia Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo

WESTERN
Bruce Ignacio
Ute Indian Tribe

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jacqueline Pata Tlingit

NCAI HEADQUARTERS

1516 P Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20005 202.466.7767 202.466.7797 fax www.ncai.org

The National Congress of American Indians Resolution #SD-15-048

TITLE: Support for Recognition of Pharmacists as Non-Physician Providers under Medicare Part B

WHEREAS, we, the members of the National Congress of American Indians of the United States, invoking the divine blessing of the Creator upon our efforts and purposes, in order to preserve for ourselves and our descendants the inherent sovereign rights of our Indian nations, rights secured under Indian treaties and agreements with the United States, and all other rights and benefits to which we are entitled under the laws and Constitution of the United States, to enlighten the public toward a better understanding of the Indian people, to preserve Indian cultural values, and otherwise promote the health, safety and welfare of the Indian people, do hereby establish and submit the following resolution; and

WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) was established in 1944 and is the oldest and largest national organization of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments; and

WHEREAS, the historic allocations of resources appropriated to the Indian health system have created a disparity and underfunding for American Indian and Alaska Native elders; and

WHEREAS, the delivery of care is substantially affected due to inadequate funding levels; and

WHEREAS, recognition of pharmacists as non-physician providers under Medicare Part B and would make them eligible for reimbursement for services they provide to seniors in underserved areas; and

WHEREAS, the shortage of primary care physicians increases, so too will the challenges that patients in underserved communities face, especially those related to access; and

WHEREAS, recognizing pharmacists as non-physician providers help address provider shortages and access issues in underserved areas; and

WHEREAS, such recognition may increase access to care and opportunities for early intervention at cost-effective settings so as to minimize long-term health care costs such as those associated with preventable higher-cost conditions.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) will support the recognition of pharmacists as non-physician providers under Medicare Part B and make them eligible for reimbursement for services they provide to seniors served in our health systems; and

Aaron Payment, Recording Secretary

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution shall be the policy of NCAI until it is withdrawn or modified by subsequent resolution.

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the General Assembly at the 2015 Annual Session of the National Congress of American Indians, held at the Town and Country Resort, San Diego, CA, October 18-23, 2015, with a quorum present.

Brian Cladoosby, President

ATTEST: